Skip to content

Intern in America: Experiencing Hospitality in Ohio

September 20, 2012

by Valerie, Hospitality Intern from the Philippines

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With my seven months of stay, experience, and development at a restaurant in Ohio, I can say everything was priceless.  It did really help me a lot as a person and in terms of training for my hospitality field and program development. Being independent, learning time management, and working hard topped the list. It also helped me boost my self-esteem and self-confidence, and customer relations skills (whether in-person or by phone) which I is think really important for those who are in the hospitality industry like me. Experience for my degree is my number one goal on this internship, and I’ve been having good experiences so far.

I learned the American culture as well- the differences of American culture from my own country, such as the business culture and the American people themselves. I have also learned some facts about the culture of other countries (China, Vietnam, and Romania) since some of my friends and co-workers are from those countries. We have been sharing stories and cultures with each other.

I had a great summer here. I spent time with my friends and I had a wonderful summer vacation at New York City. My vacation was an amazing experience. I never thought that I would be seeing NY (especially Times Square) and reuniting with my friends after months of not seeing each other!

I consider myself lucky to have had this internship!

If you or someone you know is interested in the J-1 Intern/Trainee program in the United States, please email cap@cci-exchange.org for more information.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2012 11:18 pm

    I study media and communication. How can i have an opportunity to intern in Ohio?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

